Terrain - Wooden Sheds and Shacks

05/11/2023 23:47

Buildings - Wooden Sheds and Wooden Shacks

I decided to make some simple buildings from scratch for my table, these would be wooden sheds, and wooden shacks. I also wanted these to look aged and weather beaten. Also none of these buildings were designed to have playable interiors, which meant construction to be easier.

 

The wooden sheds would be simple box shapes with a tiled pitched roof, a simple door and a simple window. These would remind me a bit of my parents shed when I was growing up, except their shed had a bitumen roof rather than tiles.

I decided to go all out on the second shed and make it a T shape. I am not convinced this was a great idea for such a small building but I learned a lot of lessons when constructing this. The door knobs were map pins and the hinges were bits of card.

Once the sheds were constructed I gave them a base coat and initial dry brush. The tiles were a dark grey (almost steel grey) colour and the wooden walls were an umber colour. After this I ink washed everything and then brought back the detail with several dry brushes.

 

The wooden shacks were designed to be some sort of crude building with a rudimentary storage space to one side, to keep the likes of logs or tools.

I liked the idea of trying to give these shacks canvas or hide roofs. I cut up some old towels and sheets, especially material that had a distinct pattern or weave. These small strips were soaked in watered down PVA glue, then draped over the piece and poked and prodded with a cocktail stick until I was happy with the shape.

Again like the wooden sheds, the wooden walls started out with an umber colour. I decided to give a bit of variety to the roof, picking out different materials in different shades and colours.

Again like the wooden sheds, I gave everything an ink wash although I think I lost the colour detail in the roof when I did this. After the ink wash everything was given several dry brushes to pick out the detail. I finished the wooden shacks with some flock and grasses to add detail to the base.

 

Overall these were quick and simple to make and I am really impressed with the results, even though the paint job may not be what I was initially after.

 

J