Life and Scheduling

14/11/2022 11:38

Sometimes Life throws things at you - and Life doesn't miss so when those things hit they hit hard. Life does this for a couple of reasons

1 to make you get off your backside and actually do all those things you promised yourself you were going to do

2 to make you stop and take a rest before you burn yourself out completely

Also Life doesn't like scheduling - I honestly believe that Life scribbles all over your planners with thick black marker whilst sticking its tongue out at you.

 

So the King's of War thing never got off the ground again. It was going well until everyones scheduling got out of sync and it never really got started again. New rules are out, so I am sure the wargaming group will get together again sometime giong forward. Most of these guys also played Frostgrave / Stargrave which therefore also never got back up and running, for all the same reasons.

My regular roleplay group took a hiatus for a few months as the GM (a drama teacher) was involved in the school production meaning less time for gaming. So I jumped into another gaming group, which ran on the same day. Good for me until my original group got back together, meaning scheduling clashes for the games. Oh the joys! Taking time off for any sort of family things also meant I would often miss out on two games not just the one. Ugh!.

I had been (irregularly) attending a local boardgame group but this has taken a huge back seat this year as I have been putting all my spare time into looking after family members after several health crises, meaning I have tended to not give myself much free time, and it is only those things like the regular weekday gaming evening, or the saturday live stream where I actually sit down and do nothing but relax for a few hours.

 

Which brings me to today, as I sit here typing whilst I convalesce through my first bout of COVID. It is not been great as I slept through the first couple of days after testing positive. Tiredness and hacking coughs are not conducive to getting stuff done, but it has given me time to reflect on things I need to do. Like updating my Blog.

Thanks Life. I am now sitting down typing. Happy?