Boardgame Bonanza -II

02/07/2023 20:37

Boardgame Bonanza - Part 2

Last time I wrote about board games I mentioned those I have played. This time it will be those games I have recently acquired.

Between Christmas presents, birthday gifts, charity shop finds, car-boot sales and personal purchases I have managed to pick up quite a number of board games in the past few years.

 

Elector Counts

boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/350028/elector-counts

"The old Emperor is dead, and his successor is anything but clear. In the halls of the powerful, diplomacy has failed, civil strife is rampant, and the trumpets of war ring loud and clear! Fight for control of The Empire, securing your holdings with faith, steel, and gunpowder. Who among the Elector Counts is worthy of ascending to Sigmar’s throne?" - Game Creator's entry, cubicle7games.com/warhammer-elector-counts-card-game-fantasy-roleplay

 

Elector Counts is a card game which mimics one of the card games played in Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay played by all sorts of Characters in taverns across the empire. Being a Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay fan I couldn't wait to get this. I have played this a few times now, and have enjoyed it.

 

Carcassonne

boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/822/carcassonne


A tile laying game where you attempt to expand your own little section of empire. An oldie which I am sure most people are aware of by now as Carcassonne if a fan favourite out there. I have played Carcassonne on many occasions at other peoples houses, and have played it as the video-game on mobile for a while. I really like Carcassonne, but never owned a copy myself until recently when family bought it as a present for me.


 


 

 

 


Catan

 boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/13/catan

Players take on the roles of settlers, each attempting to build and develop holdings while trading and acquiring resources on the fictional island of Catan. Another oldie which I am sure most people are aware of by now as Catan is also a fan favourite out there. Again I have played Catan at other peoples houses. Catan (or Settlers of Catan as it was known when I played it) was one of those games I enjoyed but was never really good at. Much like Carcassonne, I never owned a copy myself until recently when family bought it as a present for me.

 

Industry

boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/66076/industry

A revision of the game Industria, an auction / bidding strategy game with an industrial revolution theme. I picked this up one day when I wandered into a local charity shop when out shopping with the missus. I haven't managed to play this yet so I can't give you anything more than you can find out on-line.

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Quarto

 boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/681/quarto 

It is a game of 4-in-a-row, with a twist!

"Players take turns choosing a piece which the other player must then place on the board. A player wins by placing a piece on the board which forms a horizontal, vertical, or diagonal row of four pieces, all of which have a common attribute (all short, all circular, etc.)." - Wikipedia entry, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quarto_(board_game)


I picked this up very recently. I was at a car-boot sale with my mum and spied this striking board game in amongst a pile of books. When I asked the selling price I don't think I purchased anything as quick in my life – it was selling for £1! The box has a water / milk / animal pee stain on it, but the board and pieces inside are in perfect condition.

I am really looking forward to playing this.

 

Drinking Quest

boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/182225/drinking-quest

"Like a typical Role Playing Game you have a character sheet, roll for saving throws, fight monsters and find treasure BUT when your character dies in the game you have to chug your drink in real life! It adds a real level of tension and excitement to the battles. Everything matters." - Description from Board Game Geek.


I had been looking to get Drinking Quest for ages ever since I listened to an interview with Jason Anarchy in the way back when the first Drinking Quest game was released. The missus and I have some friends around once a month and we have begun the slippery slope into board games and rules light RPGS, simply those things you can do in an evening with a few drinks. This was the perfect excuse to pick up Drinking Quest. Happily Drinking Quest now comes as Drinking Quest: Six Pack, a boxed set of all six Drinking Quest games released so far. This arrived very recently so I can't wait for the next time our friends come around, I just gotta remember to tell them to being plenty of drinks!!

 

 

J