Welcome to 2020

23/02/2020 18:17

Welcome to 2020

...and welcome to the League of Omicron

A lot has been happening since my last post. I've been crafting, playing 40k, playing DnD, playing Delta Green, and playing boardgames.

 

40k (Warhammer 40 000) has been my sci-fi wargame of choice since I started gaming, and if you have read some of the other blogs, you will know I love Space Marines. I'm really an old school fan, and have been collecting and playing 40k since the mid 1990s. I was never a fan of taking a chapter from the rulebook, and even back when I started I had been designing my own chapter. I didn't want to stray too far into uncharted territory with my chapter and so I opted for a chapter based off of the Ultramarines Chapter. This made it easy (in terms or describing to others) who my Chapter was.

All I needed now was a name, a colour scheme and a logo and I was good to go, and so was born the League of Omicron. I took the Ultramarines vibe and ran with it having a uniform colour for my chapter, the League of Omicron being purple, and the logo was the Ultramarines log turned upside-down with the tails cut off. This way I hoped to be able to use the Ultramarines transfers to make my life easy.

For a long number of years, my love for 40k waxed and waned, as it seemed to be a non-stop race between new rulebooks and new army lists, and god forbid if you wanted to play someone and you weren't using the most up to date rules or army list. My biggest loss of love for 40k, and one of the reasons I stopped playing for a long time, came about somewhere starting around 4th Edition of the rules when Games Workshop retconned some of my beloved Space Marine units. Yes I could play in friendly games, and yes I could modify rules to allow my units to be on the field or even place proxy units, but it didn't just feel the same. My Army Standard Bearer, and my Apothecary on a Bike were sadly no more. With this the League of Omicron died and I didn't do much with the chapter since then.

When 8th edition (the current edition as of writing this) came out and my friends were enthusiastic for the new rules and new army lists, once again I was nonplussed. Yes, I would eventually field some minis for a game, and learn the new rules, but I cannot say I was as enthusiastic for the game as my friends were. All that changed when I saw what Games Workshop were doing, and boy was I pleased. No only did they release a free primer for the rules (basic rules to allow anyone to play the game), but they also released a couple of army list books listing all the old units which they had previously released minis for over the years. This got me hooked, and I borrowed the Index Imperium book from a friend to see if my beloved Space Marines were listed - they were!

With this the League of Omicron was reborn! I have had quite a few games with the new rules, and I like them, especially since I can use my older minis which are no only out of production, but where they haven't had rules for a many number of years. I really want to do the League of Omicron justice and complete them as a Chapter, with background and heroes. Over the many games I have played I have built up the potential for such background and heroes, I just need to commit them to paper now. Stay tuned and follow the League of Omicron.

J