A new force in Gaming has emerged...

17/12/2018 22:36

... and is right on the doorstep of The Giants Causeway Gaming Group

So, long story short, if you have read the history le sson you will know, after a second hiatus, I got back into gaming around 2013 when I found a local gaming group, The Giants Causeway Gaming Group. A few of the members of this group were staff and members of Be a   sts of War, who if you haven't heard of them by now, were set up to provide news, reviews, tutorials and general all round great info regarding various topics such as wargames, board games, card games, roleplaying games, as well as painting and modelling.

At the time I got back to gaming (c. 2013) much of the focus from Beasts of War was on the wargame and tabletop miniature skirmish game side of the hobby, and I suppose trying to build up a fanbase and future business that was to be expected of them. I joined the ranks of their online community around this time although I didn't do much with my registration as the games they were promoting were not something I was into at the time, and to pay a premium membership to access games and systems I wasn't interested in didn't appeal to me either.

Around 2015 they got some shiny new premises in Coleraine, close to home for me, and offered the Causeway Giants Gaming Group a chance to use their venue on a Sunday afternoon. Whilst this was a great opportunity, it didn't suit me, and so things just bumbled along as always.

Recently Beasts of War, have relaunched themselves as On Table Top [as of writing this, same URL as Beasts of War], with more of a family friendly approach, rather than only focusing on the diehard gaming nerds, and grognards like me. Whilst I didn't think much of the relaunch at the start, much to my surprise and delight, their vision has been a real boost to gaming in the local area, and not only that their membership package now includes use of their gaming space up to three times a week, the use of their boardgame library, the use of their workstations where you can build and paint, and a small discount off certain ranges from their new small shopfront. This was perfect for me, as I now had more days to plan something, more opportunities to play something, and if I didn't get down one day, it was not another month before I would be back. Needless to say, I took up the membership offer straight away as the opportunities it afforded well outweighed any cost.

The team and On Table Top / Beasts of War must be lauded for their efforts, especially in helping to bring the community together and to help a grognard like me to get back into gaming. Good things can only follow, and I will offer my support to the team where possible. I look forward to more gaming real soon!

 

J